First World Problems

Last week I had the privilege to represent iPerceptions and the 4Q Suite team at the Google Analytics Partner Summit 2011 in Mountain View, California. As mentioned in previous blogs, we won the “App Developer” competition (I gave the presentation) and, in addition to the more corporate-oriented prizes, I personally won a Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1, which runs the Android 3.1 “Honeycomb” operating system.Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Now one of the first people I told about this responded with “but its not an iPad”. True, its not an iPad, but I’m OK with that. There would have been a flatter learning curve if it had been an iPad (as I have an iPhone already and am familiar with iOS), but hey, who am I to turn my nose up at a “free” tablet, right? If someone gives you a $499 electronic toy, you say “thanks”… not “Did you keep the reciept?”.

I started to play around with it in my hotel room in California (that’s what she said), but the WiFi access wasn’t all that great. I didn’t want to bring it to day 2 of the conference – that would have been rubbing it in the faces of the other exhibitors… so I couldn’t use the WiFi that Google set up at the venue. So, I really only got a chance to browse the Android Market once I got back home to Montreal.

I had heard that the Android Market was growing fast, due in no small part to Google pretty much giving Android away for free to hardware developers. When you don’t have to pay for the OS, it really helps lower per-unit costs. Anyway, I was really looking forward to loading up my new toy with tonnes of cool apps.

Android MarketMuch to my chagrin, i found that the vast of apps available on the Android Market were not really functional on a tablet. Sure, the Weather Network app did work – but the screen size was optimized for a smart phone. The display, therefore, only occupied about 20% of the screen real-estate on the tablet.

Loads of highly recommended apps, even Editor’s Picks, were essentially phone-only. I was beginning to feel that I had come home from California with a brand new, bright and shiny, HD coaster.

Then I stopped myself. Not only am I complaining about a gift (or prize, in this case), but I was essentially whinging about my shiny toy not being shiny enough. Talk about your first world troubles, eh? All the crap that is going on around the world, the economy, wars, etc… and here I am, complaining about my tablet.

I guess its true what they say about tech – you get something cool, and immediately you’re on the lookout for something cooler.

I know that developers will, slowly, adapt their Android-based apps to function on tablets, much the same way that iOS developers iterated their apps from phones to tablets when the iPad launched. So really, all I have to do is wait, right?

….but I want to play with it now!!! (pout)

Leave a Reply

