Murphy’s Law

The end of last week was probably the hottest few days of the year here in Montreal. Highs in the low-to-mid 30’s, before you factored in direct sunlight and the humidity. All told, temperatures hit 45 degrees on Thursday, and not too far below that on Friday.

My A/C unit has been working like  charm all summer, keeping me and the GF cool and dry. So, naturally, it dies during the hottest days of the year!

Woke up around 4:30am on Saturday morning, sweating through the sheets and feeling generally uncomfortable. After poking the A/C unit with a stick (was the only thing I could think of at 4:30am), it was clear that the refrigeration unit was dead. So, unable to get back to sleep, I spent the rest of the night searching the web for A/C units that were both affordable and small enough to fit in my too-small condo window.

By 5:15 I had located a suitable replacement at Canadian Tire, but as they don’t open until 8am, I had to fill the time with something. Luckily the Tri-Nations were kicking off Saturday morning at 6am (est), so after about 20 minutes of searching I was able to find a site to stream what appeared to be a  Sky TV feed from Italy. The commentary was the English one, so I lucked out and watched the Aussies put up a convincing win over the Boks.

So, on the downside I had a lousy night and had to shell out ~$300 on a new A/C unit (8,000 BTU though)… but hey, I got to watch the Tri-Nations opening match LIVE… how often can you say that in Canada, eh?

Leave a Reply

